ICD-10 certificate program

Penn Foster offers ICD-10 certificate program: 6 things to know

May 11, 2016

This was originally published on BeckersHospitalReview.com and appears in full below.

By Kelly Gooch

Penn Foster, a U.S. for-profit, regionally and nationally-accredited online career school, will offer a new International Classification of Diseases certification program, ICD-10 Training for ICD-9 Coders.

Here are six things to know about the program.

1. The program is designed to prepare medical coders already trained in ICD-9 to acquire the ICD-10 training and knowledge they need to take an ICD-10 certification exam.

2. It was designed as a comprehensive program teaching coding using ICD-10-CM, ICD-10-PCS, CPT, HCPCS Level I, and HCPCS Level II practices.

3. Structured with "basic," "intermediate" and "advanced" modules, the program consists of 18 lessons, including a "virtual work experience" component.

4. Students will be allowed up to a year to complete the program, after which they will be eligible to sit for the American Academy of Professional Coders Certified Professional Coder (or NHA or AHIMA) exam to become a certified coding professional.

5. The program is designed as follow-on to Penn Foster's Medical Billing and Coding Program, and available to students in the U.S. beginning May 10.

Source: BeckersHospitalReview.com


Check back soon

Please come back soon to see future events.



Penn Foster CEO, Frank Britt’s Article A 2019 MVP Award Winner

December 05, 2019

Penn Foster Wins Award for Best Practices in Customer Service

November 27, 2019

Penn Foster Receives 2019 Learning in Practice Award from Chief Learning Officer

October 18, 2019
Media Inquiries

For Media Inquiries, please email us: [email protected]